Women in Business Law Awards - Americas



Following a thorough research period, culmination of months of research into the leading women attorneys and law firm initiatives, we now have our 2024 shortlist.


We will announce the winners on June 13 2024, at a live gala ceremony at The Union League Club, New York, with guests joining us from across the Americas.


These awards aim to recognise complex and innovative firm initiatives that promote women in law and the leading women practitioners from over 30 practice area specialisms.


The Women in Business Law Awards teams would like to express their deepest gratitude to every firm, lawyer, and company who took the time to submit an entry. Have you been shortlisted?



Supported by


The Women in Business Law Americas Awards will recognise leading women for their contributions to the practice of business law along with the firms that have developed the most progressive initiatives towards diversity and inclusion from throughout the continent.


The event programme aims to honour women in the forefront of legal work in business law and those firms that have produced initiatives and programmes to support and encourage women and diversity within the industry.  


We award law firms that have developed strong innovative practices and projects that highlight gender diversity, as well as women lawyers working in business law. We recognise up and coming women lawyers in their field and champion firms who have encouraged the growth of women talent in their countries and globally. The shortlists and winners are published on our website and social media.


View the categories >


Submission evidence

We ask firms to provide evidence of their developed programmes and practices regarding gender diversity, innovation, diversity, mentoring, talent management, and pro bono work.

Firms should provide their most complex and interesting policies and initiatives in the research form and explain clearly to our research team why they are important and what they tell us about the firm’s willingness to promote women and diversity.

Client feedback

We speak to a wide range of corporate contacts to get their opinions on the firms and attorneys they use.

Read more on the methodology here >



Research and submissions open - 02 January

Research and submissions close - 08 February

Shortlist announcement - 05 April

LIVE awards ceremony - 13 June (The Union League Club - New York)

Shortlist announced

July 23

Awards ceremony

September 17


We award law firms that have developed strong and innovative practices and programmes that highlight women and diversity, as well as women lawyers working in business law and publish the shortlists and winners on our website and social media.

Practice Area Lawyers of the Year

Rising Star Awards

Jurisdiction Awards

Firm of the Year Awards

In-house Awards

Practice Area Lawyers of the Year

The Practice Area Lawyer of the Year awards recognise the outstanding achievements of women in over thirty different practice areas in business law from across Americas. These are individuals who stand out as leaders amongst their peers and who have been instrumental to innovative approaches in their field.

Antitrust & competition


Banking & finance

Commercial arbitration


Corporate governance

Debt Capital Markets

Energy, natural resources & mining


Equity Capital Markets

Financial regulation

Information Communications Technology (ICT)

Insurance & reinsurance

International trade

Investment funds

Labour & employment

Life sciences 


Media & entertainment

Mergers & acquisitions



Privacy & data protection

Private equity (incl. venture capital)

Product liability

Project finance

Real estate

Restructuring & insolvency

Securities Litigation

Shipping & maritime

Structured finance (incl. securitisation & derivatives)


Tax dispute resolution



Transfer pricing

Wealth management

White collar crime

Rising Star Awards

Jurisdiction Awards

Firm of the Year Awards

In-house Awards

Practice Area Lawyers of the Year

Rising Star Awards

This category is to recognise those women who are blazing trails and making a name for themselves, who are not yet partners in their firms and whose stars are shining brightest as future leaders in their jurisdictions. 





Intellectual Property



Jurisdiction Awards

Firm of the Year Awards

In-house Awards

Practice Area Lawyers of the Year

Rising Star Awards

Jurisdiction Awards

The jurisdiction awards recognise the firms who put policy and rhetoric into positive action that promotes the work and culture of women in the legal industry. We award the firm in each jurisdiction that exemplifies these ideals.












US Midwest

US Northeast

US South

US West


Firm of the Year Awards

In-house Awards

Practice Area Lawyers of the Year

Rising Star Awards

Jurisdiction Awards

Firm of the Year Awards

Firm of the year award celebrates the progressive and innovative work being done by firms to promote diversity and inclusion policies into the framework of their business. Initiatives that aim to help women come to an equity standing within a traditionally male dominated industry will be recgonised here.


Career development International firm

Career development Latin America

Career development North America

Diverse Women Lawyers International firm

Diverse Women Lawyers Latin America

Diverse Women Lawyers North America

Gender diversity International firm

Gender diversity Latin America

Gender diversity North America

Innovative international firm

Latin America practice International firm

Pro bono International firm

Pro bono Latin America

Pro bono North America

Women in Business Law International firm

Women in Business Law Latin America

Women in business Law North America

Work-Life Balance International firm

Work-Life Balance Latin America

Work-Life Balance North America

In-house Awards

In-house team awards will be awarded for the following categories:

In-house team Latin America

In-house team North America

General counsel in Latin America

General counsel in North America

Rising Star in Latin America

Rising Star in North America


Founded in 1927, the Sheraton Grand London Park Lane is boasts an art deco interior that invites guests to relish in the hotel's 1920's heritage. The entire hotel is classified as a Grade II listed building.

For enquiries about how to promote your success,

please contact George Reeves 

LIVE awards ceremony - 13 June (The Union League Club - New York)




For more information on the research process, what we award, or for any general enquiries, get in touch with us below: